Dignity in care

What are the 10 Dignity Do’s and dignity champions?

When we speak about how you can deliver dignity in care, it might be hard to conjure up an exact idea of what that really means. However “Dignity in Care” have come up with the 10 Dignity Do’s – an easy list, which describes the values and actions of a high quality service that respects people who are in care’s dignity.

The 10 Dignity Do’s

  1. Have a zero tolerance of all forms of abuse
  2. Support people with the same respect you would want for yourself or a member of your family
  3. Treat each person as an individual by offering a personalised service
  4. Enable people to maintain the maximum possible level of independence, choice and control
  5. Listen and support people to express their needs and wants
  6. Respect people’s right to privacy
  7. Ensure people feel able to complain without fear of retribution
  8. Engage with family members and carers as care partners
  9. Assist people to maintain confidence and positive self-esteem
  10. Act to alleviate people’s loneliness and isolation

What are Dignity Champions?

A Dignity Champion is a person that believes  that being treated with dignity is a basic human right, not a luxury. They believe that care provision must be: compassionate, person-centred, as well as efficient, and effective and are willing to try to do something to achieve this.

What does a Dignity Champion do?

Dignity Champions are those in a care organisation that champion the 10 Dignity Do’s and:

  • Stand up and challenge disrespectful behaviour
  • Act as role models by treating other people with respect, particularly those who are more vulnerable
  • Raise issues regarding dignity to improve the way that services are organised and delivered
  • Influence and inform colleagues on best practice
  • Listen to and understand the views and experiences of those in care

Where can you find out more about the 10 Dignity Do’s and becoming a Dignity Champion?

You can find out more about becoming a dignity champion and the 10 Dignity Do’s by visiting Dignity in Care’s becoming a champion page.